2019 Guide to Government

Emporia/Lyon County Kansas

U.S. Congress


Senators


Jerry Moran
, 521 Dirksen Office Bldg.
Washington, DC 20510; 202-224-6521
www.moran.senate.gov
Twitter: @JerryMoran

Pat Roberts, 109 Hart Office Bldg.
Washington, DC 20510; 202-224-4774
www.roberts.senate.gov
Twitter: @SenPatRoberts

1st District Representative


Roger Marshall
, 312 Cannon House Office Bldg.
Washington, DC 20515; 202-225-2715
www.marshall.house.gov
Twitter: @RepMarshall

 

State of Kansas

https://portal.kansas.gov/

Four-year terms expire Jan. 2023

Gov. Laura Kelly
300 SW 10th Ave., Ste. 2415, Topeka 66612
785-296-3232; 877-579-6757
Twitter:  @GovLauraKelly

Lynn Rogers, Lieut. Governor
785-368-8500
Twitter: @LynnRogers4KS

Scott Schwab, Sec. of State
785-296-4564

Derek Schmidt, Attorney Gen
785-296-2215

Jake LaTurner, Treasurer
785-296-3171

Vicki Schmidt, Insurance Comm
785-296-3071

Ben Jones, State Board of Ed. 7th Dist.
620-278-6063; bjones@ksde.org

 

Kansas Legislature

Four-year term expires Jan. 2021

Kansas Senate, 17th District

Jeff Longbine (R)
235E, State Capitol
Topeka 66612; 785-296-7384
jeff.longbine@senate.ks.gov
620-342-2744
Twitter: @JeffLongbine

Kansas House 

(2-year terms, expire Jan. 2021)

District 51

Ron Highland (R)
561W, State Capitol
Topeka 66612; 785-296-7310
ron.highland@house.ks.gov
 785-9799

District 60

Mark Schreiber (R),
167W, State Capitol
Topeka 66612; 785-296-2721
mark.schreiber@house.ks.gov
620-342-6954
Twitter: @schreiberemp

District 76

Eric Smith (R)
167C, State Capitol
Topeka 66612; 785-296-7557
eric.smith@house.ks.gov
620-490-1458

 

Emporia City Commission

111 E. Sixth Ave./P.O. Box 928
Emporia 66801; 620-343-4250

Four-year terms, elected in odd-numbered years

Jon Geitz; 481-1192
jgeitz@emporia-kansas.gov

Danny Giefer; 343-2469
dgiefer@emporia-kansas.gov

Rob Gilligan; 481-0616
rgilligan@emporia-kansas.gov

Bobbi Mlynar; 342-3012
bmlynar@emporia-kansas.gov

Becky Smith; 481-9457
bsmith@emporia-kansas.gov

 

Emporia City Officials (Appointed)

Mark McAnarney, City Manager
343-4251; mmcanarney@empori-kansas.gov

Lane Massey, Asst. City Mgr.
lmassey@emporia-kansas.gov

Christina Montgomery, City Attorney
cmontgomery@emporia-kansas.gov

Kerry Sull, City Clerk
ksull@emporia-kansas.gov

Janet Harrouff, Dir. Admin. Services/Treasurer
jharrouff@emporia-kansas.gov

Jim Ubert, City Engineer
jubert@emporia-kansas.gov

Scott Cronk, Police Chief
scronk@emporia-kansas.gov

Jack Taylor, Fire Chief
jtaylor@emporia-kansas.gov

Public Works Director
(vacant)

Jo Lynne Herron, Dir. Human Resources
jherron@emporia-kansas.gov

Ted Hollembeak, Municipal Ct. Judge
thollembeak@emporia-kansas.gov

Aric Kenyon, Info Technology Admin.
akenyon@emporia-kansas.gov

Lisa Keith, David Traylor Zoo Director
keith@emporia-kansas.gov

Shelly Kelley, Comm. Services Officer
skelley@emporia-kansas.gov

Ken Adams, Airport Manager
kadams@emporia-kansas.gov

Marcus Erkel, Golf Shop Manager
merkel@emporia-kansas.gov

Kevin Hanlin, Facilities Manager
khanlin@emporia-kansas.gov

Mike Dvorak, Utilities Supervisor
mdvorak@emporia-kansas.gov

Phil Cooper, Water Treatment Plant Supervisor
pcooper@emporia-kansas.gov

Scott Gumfory, Waste Water Plant Supervisor
sgumfory@emporia-kansas.gov

Kelley Storch, Golf Course Superintendent
kstorch@emporia-kansas.gov

Keith Senn, Sanitation Supervisor
ksenn@emporia-kansas.gov

 

Lyon County Commission

430 Commercial St., Emporia 66801
620-341-3270

Four-year terms elected in even-numbered years

Scott Briggs, 1st District (term expires 2022)
620-699-3448; sbriggs@lyoncounty.org

Dan Slater, 2nd District (term expires 2020)
620-412-4772; danslater@lyoncounty.org

Rollie Martin, 3rd District (term expires 2020)
620-437-2175; rmartin@lyoncounty.org

 

Elected County Officials

Four-year terms expire in 2020

Jeff Cope, Sheriff, 341-3205
http://lyoncounty.org/sheriff/contact-us

Tammy Vopat, County Clerk, 341-3245
lyclerk@lyoncounty.org

Sharon Gaede, County Treasurer, 341-3255
sgaede@lyoncounty.org

Wendy Weiss, Register of Deeds, 341-3242
wweiss@lyoncounty.org

Marc Goodman, County Attorney, 341-3263
mgoodman@lyoncounty.org

 

Lyon County District Court

430 Commercial Street, 620-341-3283

Chief Judge Merlin G. Wheeler
341-3296

Judge W. Lee Fowler
341-3293

Judge Jeffry J. Larson
341-3292

Julie Cooper, Clerk of the District Court
dstclerk@5ghjd.org
341-3283

Ruth Wheeler, District Court Administrator
ctadmin@5thjd.org
340-8295

 

Emporia Public Schools, USD 253

Mary Herbert Education Center
1700 W. 7th Ave., Emporia

Kevin Case, Superintendent
620-341-2201
kevin.case@usd253.net

 

USD 253 Board of Education

Four-year terms, elected in odd-numbered years

Susan Brinkman (term expires in 2019)
brinkman.susan1@gmail.com
342-2204

Michael Crouch (term expires in 2021)
mcrouch@fhtc.edu
757-8416

Doug Epp (term expires in 2021)
Doug.Epp54@gmail.com
481-9725

Art Gutierrez (term expires in 2019)
art.gutierrez@usd253.net
342-9403

Mallory Koci (term expires 2019)
Mallory.koci@usd253.net
419-619-7340

Melissa Ogleby (term expires in 2021)
mogleby@gmail.com
481-7129

Grant Riles (term expires in 2019)
gcr110@yahoo.com
794-3662